Analysis and Design

Part 1

The analysis was a great way for me to gather all of the information from my client and understand his vision for this project. When we sat down to meet, I brought my questions with me. I was able to jot down notes and ask questions. Having these notes with me as I completed my analysis was super helpful. If there were any questions that I missed, I reached out to my client to answer them. Personally, I have a hard time sitting down and planning.  I often just jump into the project with little direction. That usually leads to me being extremely overwhelmed and trying to work without a clear understanding of what I am creating. This process has helped me slow down and really work through the details before jumping into the project.

For the first face to face meeting, during our PLC, I plan to have some sort of presentation prepared. I want it to be interactive and not just a boring lecture. My major objective for this part of the training is that learners will be able to understand the importance of collaboration between students resulting in using collaborative apps in the classroom. I plan to use Peardeck to present the information from the Clarity survey. I think it would be neat to do a small pre-assessment to see how much our educators know about collaboration in the classroom. That will help guide what needs to be reiterated and what needs to be covered. I also plan to introduce 3 collaborative apps that could be used in the classroom.

My next training will be an online Schoology component. Each app will have a short summary or overview of the app, a task to complete and a short question and answer piece. I will also conduct this training live to help those who are not as confident or may be tech challenged.

Part 2

To me, analysis and design are closely related. Taking the time to ask questions, understand the problem and the need, and create an analysis allows the design document to be detailed and concise. While reading Romiszowski (1981), I was drawn to Polya’s approach to mathematical problem-solving.

  1. Understand the problem
  2. Find the connection between the data and the unknown
  3. Carry out the plan
  4. Examine the solution (p. 22)

This concept can be used in instructional design as well. What is the problem I am trying to solve? What is the connection between what I know and what I need to know? I can figure these questions out with my analysis. Designing is carrying out the plan and evaluating the outcome.

The best thing about instructional design is that it is flexible! It no longer needs to be printed, but can be changed instantaneously. The Information R/Evolution video (2007), shows that information does not need to be stored in the same way, or created in the same way anymore. It can be changed and manipulated to meet the needs of the audience. I see this in my classroom daily when I change how I present and what I present depending on the needs of my individual class period.

 

Romiszowski, A. J. (1981). Designing instructional systems: Decision making in course planning and curriculum design. London: Kogan Page.

Wesch, M. (2007, October 12). Information R/evolution. Retrieved February 16, 2017, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4CV05HyAbM&%3Bfeature=rec-fresh

Leave a Reply

